Wisconsin, Nevada and North Dakota have updated their IRP registration fee schedules for the upcoming year. The changes for Nevada and North Dakota will go into effect January 1, 2020, however Wisconsin’s changes will take effect on October 1, 2019.
IRP registration fees
Wisconsin IRP fee changes
Wisconsin has increased its’ fees for trucks, buses, and road tractors at 4,500 pounds and 6,000 pounds from $75 and $84 respectively, to $100 for both weights. Fees have also increased for truck tractors at 4,500 and 6,000 pounds from $93 and $102 respectively, to $118 for both weights.
See the updated Wisconsin IRP registration fee schedule.
Nevada IRP fee changes
Nevada has released its’ IRP registration fees for all jurisdictions. The new fees will go into effect on January 1, 2020. Adjustments were made to account for depreciation factors and to add the Nevada suggested purchase cost (OPC) for 2020.
The update also increased the maximum weight for registration in Nevada from 80,000 lbs. to 129,000 lbs., therefore eliminating the need for an overweight permit for a reducible load.
See the updated Nevada IRP registration fee schedule.
North Dakota IRP fee changes
Effective January 1, 2020, North Dakota has updated fee schedules for trucks, truck-tractors, tractors and buses. Fees for some weight ranges over 22,000 lbs. decreased in some instances.
Additionally, North Dakota is adding fee schedules for trucks, truck-tractors, tractors, and buses registered at 20,000 lbs. and less.
See the updated North Dakota IRP registration fee schedule.
There are many rules and regulations involved with the International Registration Plan (IRP). Failure to stay up to date with your registration fee, changes to those or rules and regulations cause failure of an IRP audit. We offer mock audits and management that help avoid these types of issues.
With all of the IFTA and IRP audits, Compliance Navigation Specialists, Adam Galante and Chris Kiehl, talk about Electronic Record Keeping Requirements to stay compliant.
The Commonwealth of Kentucky Transportation Cabinet has released a memo stating that Kentucky ad valorem fee conversion factor will change effective January 1, 2019.
Conversion Factor Table and Fee Calculation Example
Example Fee Calculation:
Ad Valorem Fee – Purchase Price ($100,000.00) X Year of Purchase Factor (.00608) = $608.00 X Kentucky Mileage Percentage (.50) = $304.00
Weight Fee – 80,000 Pound Weight Fee ($1,410.00) X Kentucky Mileage Percentage (.50) = $705.00
Total Fee – $304.00+ $705.00 = $1009.00
Note: The ad valorem fee is not applicable to any current year purchase and is not prorated.
Utah State Tax Commission has announced Effective January 1, 2019 Utah DMV Motor Carrier Services will no longer issue month or year decals for apportioned license plates. Utah Code 41-1a-301 (6)(d)(iii)(B) reads,
“A registrant of an apportioned vehicle is not required to display month or year decals.” Owners are still required to maintain current registration for all apportioned vehicles, and present cab cards to law enforcement when requested.
For questions please contact Motor Carrier Services 801-297-6800.